True Blessings

13769384_10153574890401786_2632481130427760746_nI am completely overwhelmed by the kindness of others!

I proposed a project on DonorsChoose.org and raised over $1700 in the past few days to get my students ChromeBooks for our upcoming school year.

A friend at church paid for a “bar-like table” for my classroom as I explore flexible seating options.

My kids helped me bring 2 loads of stuff over to school today to get the stuff OUT OF MY HOUSE!

A parent of a former student of mine dropped off magazines for my classroom as we have many projects planned for their use!

My position back in the classroom next year leaves me with TONS of time this summer to be with my kids.   What a blessing!  There’s not a day that I don’t thank God for our new “normal” around here.   I take in every. single. moment. with these two and rejoice in the time off that I have with them!  This summer is so stress-free and freeing not only to me, but to my family.   I had no idea how much I had on my plate.

It is so eye-opening to enjoy the every day little things….the tickles, the smiles, the questions, the explanations, the sports banter….and not be rushed and hurried and always- on- the- go.  It’s okay to stop what I’m doing and snuggle with a tired Kirby for 1/2 hour while we “chill.”   It’s ok to stop what I am doing and sit down with Punky and really listen to his ideas and comments about the world, sports, and life in general.   These two boys amaze me every single day, and I am so thankful that I have this time with them.  Such a different feel to this summer, and I absolutely LOVE it!

It is so freeing to know that I have almost a month left with these guys before I really start back to school.  It’s even more fun to see how excited they are to help me get ready for school.  Their excitement as they run to my new room is heartwarming.  I seriously have never in the past 6 years just lived in the moment during summer – there was always work to be done.

I am so unbelievably blessed and I am so thankful for all of the blessings I have in my life.  These two little boys are my focus right now…as it should be.    Thank you, God, for all of the eye-opening, life-changing,  and A-ha moments this summer.   I am truly blessed.

Melissa

P.S. My FitBit has been acting up and falling apart.  I emailed them and asked if that was normal for an 8 month old purchase.   They are replacing my FitBit free!   WOW!   THANK YOU!  Another blessing! 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Let me know what you're thinkin'!

