Some Summer Thinking…

It has been downright brutal here in Minnesota this month.  Polar Vortex Schmortex. I’m done.  Yes, I have certainly enjoyed the 5 additional days off from school this month, but I am ready for spring. I certainly loved every extra day I got to snuggle with my little ones.

photo(1)Last night, to be different and try to “fake” some summertime indoors, I decided to have a summer dinner.  We had watermelon, hamburgers, and potato salad.   Yum.

Potato salad…I never make it the same way twice and I have tried oodles of different recipes, but since this month the Pioneer Woman has yet to let me down, I tried her perfect potato salad.  Wow.

As I set out to make this, I saw that she used a potato ricer.  Ahhhh.   I had one of those.  My Grandma bought me one for Christmas a few years ago, and just recently Kirby pulled it out and had been carrying it around like a toy.  So I followed her recipe all except for the sweet pickles since I didn’t have any.  It was absolutely delicious.  Hubby even emailed me from work today saying that he was thinking about potato salad.  Yep, it was that good.

photo 1

Then, to top off the meal, I made hamburgers, piled them high with crumbled bleu cheese and onion slices.
photo 2A little slice of summer here in the frozen tundra.  It helped us warm up just a tad… for a minute.  Brrrrrr!

Let me know what you're thinkin'!

