Yummy Chili

photo (2)We have an annual New Year’s Eve party we attend every year, but this year, we moved it to Saturday, January 4th.  We are in the middle of a huge cold spell here in Minnesota, so instead of the appetizers I ususally bring, I brought a big ol’ pot of chili.  But, I didn’t want just a plain old chili recipe, so I created my own, and it was tasty!!!

I used my huge stock pot.  I browned 2 lbs of ground beef along with a huge onion (diced) and some green pepper (diced).  Once that was finished, I added 4 cans of diced tomatoes, 1 can of Ro-Tel tomatoes, 1 jar of medium salsa and 3 cans of light kidney beans.  I then added 4 heaping teaspoons of chili powder, salt, and pepper.

The chili simmered for a couple of hours before I dumped it into a crock pot for travel purposes.

Side note, I was so bummed I couldn’t follow the Pioneer Woman’s chili recipe as I didn’t have any masa harina (corn flour, found in the Mexican food section of many supermarkets).  I mentioned this to one of my friends who was also coming to the party, and she said she had some!

So, once we were there, we took 1/4 cup of the masa harina and mixed it with 1/2 cup water.  We then stirred it into the chili and let it cook another 10-15 minutes.

(I have to admit, I ate a small bowl before the mesa harina, and holy cow, that addition took the chili to a whole new level!!!)

I served it with sour cream, cheddar cheese, and fresh cilantro.

So, to sum it all up:

2 lbs ground beef
1 large onion, diced
1 green pepper, diced
3 cans kidney beans, rinsed and drained
4 cans diced tomatoes
1 can ro-tel tomatoes
1 jar medium salsa
3-4 tablespoons of chili powder
salt/pepper
1/4 cup mesa harina

Brown the ground beef, onion, and green pepper.  Stir in all the cans of goodies.  Add chili powder, salt, and pepper.  Let simmer for an hour on the stove.  Mix 1/4 cup mesa harina with a 1/2 cup cold water. Use a fork to stir the lumps out.  Add to the chili, stir, and let cook 10- 15 more minutes.   Serve with shredded cheese, sour cream, and fresh cilantro.

Enjoy!

 

Let me know what you're thinkin'!

