Happy New Year!

NewYear

 

I cannot believe it is 2014! That means in just 8 short days, I turn 40.  Wow.  Bring it on!  I’m ready for 40. I have to say that I am pretty proud of what I have accomplished in the first 40 years of my life.  I can only hope to achieve even more during the next 40 years!

Many people headed back to school today, but for some AWESOME reason, our district chose to wait until January 6th.  I am so ok with that!  I need a little chill time after the hustle and bustle of the holidays.

We had a fabulous time in Chicago for Christmas.   We were so blessed to spend lots of time with lots of members of my family!   On Christmas Day, we all gathered at Mom and Dad’s house and celebrated for nearly 9 hours!  We had a fabulous prime rib dinner.  We got lots of presents from everyone. The kids had a blast.  After they opened gifts, we ate dinner, and then they got to watch their new movies while the adults opened gifts in the other room.  Lots of laughs were heard in both rooms!

My mom and dad took Keith and me out for my 40th birthday (a little early).  We went to Cooper’s Hawk.  I had a fabulous time.  We ate a delicious meal, and we drank some very yummy wine!  That night, my sister and brother-in-law had our boys.  So we went back to mom and dad’s and watched a movie.

The next morning, we got up and headed to the AMC theater near my sister’s house.  Keith and I saw American Hustle.   Fabulous movie.  I’m sure there will be many Oscar nods to the actors and actresses.

We picked up the boys and headed to my brother’s and sister-in-law’s house for another birthday celebration.  They made eggplant parmesan, pasta, italian sausage, garlic bread, salad, and tiramisu. Delicious!

On Saturday, we met up with my Aunt Julie and Uncle Jerry to exchange gifts and spend some time together.  Punky and Kirby loved their jukebox!

1510884_10151787414226786_58743871_n

Saturday evening, mom made Prime Rib Soup.  Delicious.  She even sent some home with us. 🙂

We got back home to the Frozen Tundra on Sunday evening.

I was spoiled this year.  I got Rachael Ray’s orange dishes for my “new” kitchen (when we get it painted), new Calphalon knives, two Pioneer Woman cookbooks, some awesome orange bowls/platters/spatulas, my first Coach purse, my perfume (Romance by Ralph Lauren), socks, Bears attire, and much much more!

I really dove into the Pioneer Woman cookbooks.  So far, I am in heaven.  I made Scalloped Potatoes and Ham, an everything Bagel French Toast bake, Buffalo Chicken Bites, Potato Skins, Brie stuffed mushrooms, and I can’t wait to keep going!   Everything is so good!

picstitch

We’ve spent the week so far relaxing, playing games, cooking, putting gifts away, cleaning, etc.  I am so glad we have a few more days off!   I am enjoying every second with my boys!

Happy New Year!

 

Let me know what you're thinkin'!

