A Priceless evening

Holy Hannah!   Where did October go?    Octobers are always a busy month here at the Schad house.  It begins with Columbus day weekend when my parents come up from Illinois to visit.  Then, as traditon has it, they  take Punky back with them for the week.   (In Minnesota, teachers have an annual convention the third Thursday and Friday of the month of October, so the kids have no school.  Our school district tacks on a day of staff development, so the kids only have 2 days of school that week.  Works for us as we have this annual plan!)  We then drive down to Illinois to pick up Punky (Shhhhh…..don’t tell, I don’t attend the teacher convention….haven’t in over 10 years!  In fact, I am not too sure who does attend the convention, as facebook planted my friends all over the country during that long weekend!) During our time in Illinois, we celebrate Halloween with the IL family, Punky’s birthday, and my brother-in-law’s birthday.  My mom’s is always the following week… but I haven’t made it back for that in a few years.

That fun-packed family weekend is then always followed by a hellacious week at school with multiple nights of Parent-teacher conferences (READ: 12+ hour days), the annual Activity Night/Halloween Dance for our 6th, 7th, and 8th grade students, and Punky’s birthday.  This year was no different.

Last year, Punky’s birthday fell on parent-teacher conference night, and I had a taco dinner for him and all of his friends in the Jackson Middle School Office.  This year, his birthday fell on the Activity Night.  So, how did he spend it, you ask?  At the dances, chaperoning, holding a walkie-talkie, just like his admin buddies.  🙂  He had a blast!

I fell off the blogging train this month, but I feel like I land-blasted my “friends” with updates and photos on Facebook of the entire Schad crew.

So, now, here it is…November.  I can’t believe it!   Punky just turned 8!   Kirby is nearly 15 months old!   Where does the time go?  Hubby and I need a date night SOON.  We spend lots of time corralling the troops, but I think we need dinner and a movie OUT!  I’ll have to work on that!

In November, lots of people spend the 30 days of the month reciting their blessings.  I always thought that was a really cool idea, but never took the time to do it.  Lots of things happened this past year to make me stop, reflect, and just plain ol’ thank God for all I have.  (Birth of a baby, Father-in-law passing away, best friend fighting cancer, friends of mine around me struggling in their marriages, the list goes on…)

So, this month, I will take the 30 days and write more about what I am thankful for, as well as what we are up to (Since everyone insists on growing up so fast around here!).  So, grab a chair, a glass of your beverage of choice, and check back here each night to see what we’re up to!  😉

Tonight.  All I had in my head was to go out to dinner a family to somewhere new….but kid friendly.  I thought Chick-Fil-A opened up here in the past few weeks, and we could try there as chicken is a HUGE hit with the boys.  So, we go there, and the line is out the door.   Too cold to stand with Kirby outside, so we decided to hit Dickey’s BBQ (I had a living social voucher for them).  My nice, quiet, family night was so not what happened, but hey, you know what, we got to spend some time together as a family….away from the TV, the new XBox, and the craziness of home.  Kirby was beside himself and refused to eat anything.  He would chew and spit things out after chewing for awhile.  Totally gross.

Punky asked to hit the Creative Kidstuff Store next door.  As we were roaming around, he quickly changed his tune, whining, “Can we goooooooo? Noooooowwwww?”  Ugh.

We got home, and I had promised Punky a movie downstairs in the playroom on the Roku, the bed pulled out, and the fireplace on.  That kids remembers everything you say!   So…1385317_10151671387971786_714030331_n

Life doesn’t get much better than that!

So, what am I thankful for today?  Being able to enjoy the way things ARE, not how I envisioned them.  Dinner didn’t look at all like I had planned in my head….did I still enjoy every second watching Kirby spit out his chicken?  His mac and cheese?  Absolutely!

Good night!

Melissa

 

Let me know what you're thinkin'!

