A Summer Favorite

Summer has returned in all of it’s blazing glory today.   Wow.   It was H-O-T!  Tonight, there was no way we were going to be doing any major cooking inside…so we resorted to our summer favorite fresh bruschetta made with tomatoes from our very own garden.

I mentioned to Punky this morning that my plan was for bruschetta tonight.  He replied with an excited, “YESSSSSSSS!”

So, after a crabby long day at work, I got to be at home with my three boys, and I loved every minute (Ok, maybe not EVERY minute as I blew a small gasket when I couldn’t find my keys later this evening….)

How did I decompress after today…Hubby had the boys outside..and I began dinner.

Yummy tomatoes picked from our garden
Yummy tomatoes picked from our garden
I washed them all, and I got to use my microfiber mat to lay them out to dry a bit...love that IKEA find!
I washed them all, and I got to use my microfiber mat to lay them out to dry a bit…love that IKEA find!
Chopped up all of the tomatoes...
Chopped up all of the tomatoes…
Add 1.5 Tablespoons of sugar; 1.5 teaspoons of Kosher salt, 5 or 6 minced garlic cloves...This is when Punky entered the kitchen...
Add 1.5 Tablespoons of sugar; 1.5 teaspoons of Kosher salt, 5 or 6 minced garlic cloves…This is when Punky entered the kitchen…

Punky came into the kitchen and said, “Mama, me and you are the head chefs for this baseball team… Let’s get cooking, ok!?”   Made me smile.   I let him stir the tomatoes so they could then sit for a half hour.

Perfection.
Perfection.

While the tomatoes were sitting getting all YUMMIFIED, Hubby went out to grill the bread for the bruschetta.  Punky and I decided to wash up some grapes.  Have I ever told you about my thing with fruits and veggies?  It grosses me out that they come from the grocery store and ya never know who handled them or what… so here’s our secret…

See that nasty waxy stuff on the grapes?  Ick!
See that nasty waxy stuff on the grapes? Ick!
We have a pump full of water along with a few drops of Shaklee's Basic H cleaner.  A few squirts of that over the grapes...
We have a pump full of water along with a few drops of Shaklee’s Basic H cleaner. A few squirts of that over the grapes…
And rinse.   Ahhhhh.  Much nicer!  :-)
And rinse. Ahhhhh. Much nicer! 🙂

I am picky about a few things and one is serving grapes.  I hate when the stems are still on, so I was showing Punky how to gently get the grapes off the stems and into the bowl.  He worked so hard at this.  Here’s the finished grapes in my bowl…I let the stems go, as he worked so hard and was proud of our little baseball-chef scenario.

Delicious.  Washed with love...stems and all.  :)
Delicious. Washed with love…stems and all. 🙂
This is Punky helping with the grapes.   He couldn't reach the sink, so the step stool came out...
This is Punky helping with the grapes. He couldn’t reach the sink, so the step stool came out…
The step stool was way too enticing for Kirby, so he decided to climb up and try to help too.  :)
The step stool was way too enticing for Kirby, so he decided to climb up and try to help too. 🙂
We sliced up some sharp cheddar and some mild cheddar.  Turned out KIRBY LOVES CHEESE!
We sliced up some sharp cheddar and some mild cheddar. Turned out KIRBY LOVES CHEESE!
Time to add the fresh basil.  Punky went and got some from the  herb garden under the apple tree...and voila!
Time to add the fresh basil. Punky went and got some from the herb garden under the apple tree…and voila!
Pure deliciousness.
Pure deliciousness.
As we finished up with the basil, Hubby brought in the grilled bread.  Hubby taught Punky how to get that awesome garlic taste on the bread... He thought he was pretty special (He's right!)
As we finished up with the basil, Hubby brought in the grilled bread. Hubby taught Punky how to get that awesome garlic taste on the bread… He thought he was pretty special (He’s right!)
Look at that deliciousness.  Cut garlic cloves.  Rub the cut side of teh garlic on the bread.  Drizzle with olive oil.  Add a pinch of Kosher salt. WOW.
Look at that deliciousness. Cut garlic cloves. Rub the cut side of the garlic on the bread. Drizzle with olive oil. Add a pinch of Kosher salt. WOW.
Setting it all out to eat.  Punky had it in his head we should sit out in the living room and watch an episode of CHOPPED, but it wasn't on, so he settled for Diners, Drive-ins, and Dives...
Setting it all out to eat. Punky had it in his head we should sit out in the living room and watch an episode of CHOPPED, but it wasn’t on, so he settled for Diners, Drive-ins, and Dives…
A plate ready to be served...
A plate ready to be served…
I think the evening was a hit!
I think the evening was a hit!

After dinner, the kids and I walked over to see Punky’s 3rd and 4th grade friends play tackle football at Northland Park.  Hubby cleaned up the kitchen.  [Ok, in all fairness, my evening was not rosy through and through.  This is where I couldn’t find my keys and had a small fit]  🙂  All part of my charm…

I love evenings like this…especially when Punky gets excited for some family time and gets right in there to help.  I love that kid!  And, don’t forget Kirby trying to get up to the sink to help to wash the grapes!   Priceless.  My two little angels.

Good night!

Melissa

Let me know what you're thinkin'!

