Score one for Mama!

Punky loves the pizza lunchables, but have you read how much sodium is in those things?!?!?

That’s a whole lot!  SO, of course, you can’t reason with a 7 year old on why he can’t eat his lunchables when that’s all he wants to eat!  But, you can outsmart said seven year old, every once in a while…

My goal was to find a healthier alternative to his “favorite” lunch.   I think I scored.  Big Time.

Pizza Lunchables

Ingredients:
2 1/2 – cups all purpose flour
1 – teaspoon salt
1 – cup warm water
1 – tablespoon baking powder
4 – tablespoons butter, softened
1 – 1/4 oz packet rapid rise yeast
1 – 14 oz jar pizza sauce
mozzarella cheese
pepperoni slices
snack size sandwich bags

Directions:

Dissolve the yeast in the warm water and set aside.

Then, I brought out my favorite kitchen aid mixer….Mix the flour, salt and baking powder together.

Add the softened butter and cut into the flour mixture.  Once that’s blended, add the yeast mixture and stir together.

Knead the dough on a lightly floured surface until well blended.  (I just let my mixer “knead” for a few minutes on a medium setting…that worked like a charm!)  Separate dough into 18-20 golfball-size pizza- dough balls. Set aside, cover with a towel, and let the dough rest for about 15 minutes.

Before “rising”
After “rising”

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. On a floured surface roll out each pizza dough ball into a 4 or 5 inch circle.  (For an even quicker way, I just flattened them out with the palm of my hand tonight—-I didn’t want to dig out the rolling pin.)

Place place each pizza round on a “Pammed” pizza pan or baking stone. Bake for 8-10 minutes or until the bottoms are lightly brown.


Remove from oven and let cool on racks. When completely cool, I placed them in a gallon size freezer bag and will store in the freezer until ready to use.

Super excited me explained to Punky what I was making.   It was then he said that he wasn’t going to eat them.   Blasted stubborn German genes!  So, I set out on a new mission…..how to present this “cool-ly” and “most like the real lunchables.”

Game on.

I put the sauce in a small container…
Packed up snack-size bags of mozzarella cheese and pepperoni along with the yummy crusts in a very cute sandwich container (complete with spoon which snaps right onto the lid!)

And….I presented it to Punky.

I asked him how in the world he even “prepares” his small pizzas at lunch every day and he proudly showed me…

Punky added the sauce on top with his spoon then proceeded to spread it around the top of the crust with his finger. A proud Mama moment. 😉
Spread the sauce on top of the pizza crust…
Add a little bit of cheese to the top…
Add pepperoni. Punky only used 1 slice on his tonight….
Take a big ol’ bite out of your pizza then turn and give mom 2 thumbs up!

Best part of the night…”Mama!  You did it!   It tastes just like the ones from the store!”  So, now, I won’t feel so guilty packing these for his lunch.   He will enjoy his pizza, and I will relax that he’s not pouring sodium straight into his body!  A win-win for all of us!  And it wasn’t even that hard!   😉  The recipe above made 17 small crusts for the week!

Good night!

8 thoughts on “Score one for Mama!

  1. way to go …. finding healthy substitutes for store bought foods can be fun! Not to mention fun on the pocketbook too! Nice work Mom! ❤

  2. Ha! You’re sweet to say so, but it seems I don’t quite have enough hours in the day as it is! Maybe in another stage of life?! Have a good week:)

  3. These are fantastic! I work for an organisation called sure start (it’s government funded and we basically offer support and advice on virtually everything families with children under five would need support with) do you mind if I pass this onto our team for the next time we do a healthy snack type course? We’re always looking for new recipes to pass onto family’s.

Let me know what you're thinkin'!

