Deliciousness!

One of Punky’s favorite foods to eat is “little chickens.” He loves Rock Cornish Hens….and he polishes them right off! So, today, I started them in the crock pot, as I didn’t want to heat up the house with the oven this afternoon. The house smells A-M-A-Z-I-N-G!

Here is the recipe: Orange-Glazed Rock Cornish Hens (or “Little Chickens” as Punky calls them!)

Ingredients:

1 large cooking apple, cored, cut in quarters
1 tablespoon soy sauce
4 Rock Cornish game hens
1 cup dry white or blush wine
3 tablespoons orange marmalade
1/2 lemon, juice and rind
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/8 teaspoon pepper
Preparation:

Dip apple quarters into soy sauce,and put one into the cavity of each Cornish hen. Stir wine, marmalade, lemon rind and juice, salt and pepper into remaining soy sauce and brush over Cornish hens. Place Cornish hens breast side down in a 5 to 6-quart slow cooker; pour the remaining sauce over all. Cover and cook on low for 7 hours. Baste occasionally after 4 hours of cooking. Arrange Cornish hens on a heated serving platter; serve with rice.

Let me let ya in on a little secret here…..of course, I didn’t have everything on hand. (Nor did I defrost the hens, so I couldn’t put the apples inside!) So, I basically threw it all in teh crock pot…….and turned it on before racing out the door this morning! (I also did not have any wine OR chicken broth, so I just used water…..and I didn’t have any orange marmalade, but I did have Apricot jam…..same color!) Guess what? I also don’t have any rice here, so we’ll be having potatoes and some sort of veggie with it. I know. I am a rebel! LOL! 😉

Anyway, the turned out yummy! Next time, I think I’ll try to follow the recipe to really check it out!

One thought on “Deliciousness!

  1. wow– so you really did not do the recipe per say…..but sounded good and i could almost smell it over the phone!!

Let me know what you're thinkin'!

