Hmmmm.

He doesn’t come with an instruction manual. I try to be the best mom I can. But, sometimes ya just gotta shed some tears and just hug the little guy.

Punky is not liking preschool. Let me rephrase that. Punky goes to preschool on Tuesday and Thursday afternoons. On Tuesday and Thursday nights, Punky loves preschool. Every other day of the week, he claims he hates it. Monday and Wednesday nights the tears begin.

Punky hates the unknown. He’s a quiet observer until he’s comfortable. He likes the familiar. Once he is acclimated to a new routine, place, or expectation, he is fine!

Take last year at Sunday school for example. Punky would clutch my leg and cry every Sunday morning. He never wanted to go into his classroom. I sat in his room with him the entire first semester. Then, I told him I had meetings I had to be at during Sunday school, and after awhile he never even asked. He loved learning and doing his little projects each week!

This fall, he is in the same class…and he even took a little guy, who demonstrated the same fears this fall as Punky did last year, under his wing. He always makes sure little Gavin is set each week during class.

So, I know things will turn around. I know he’ll love it once he’s comfortable. I know he needs it (especially to make the jump to kindergarten next fall!). I know he will be ok.

But, damn, nights like this, I just want to cry. He kept crying, then sobbing, then whimpering about how much he doesn’t like and doesn’t want to go to preschool. He doesn’t have any friends. He doesn’t want to feed the fish. He doesn’t like outside time. He doesn’t like story time. He doesn’t like… The list went on tonight…

I know he will be ok. I know things will turn around. I know he’ll love it once he’s comfortable. I know he needs it (especially to make the jump to kindergarten next fall!). I know he will be ok.

4 thoughts on “Hmmmm.

  1. Awwwww, sad! and hard for you! just keep doing what you’re doing and repeating the last part of your post like a mantra! If I have one piece of advise ( not that you need any) it’s to put as little emphasis or even acknowledgement on the crying, etc. as possible. Stay very neutral, not too sympathetic… Maybe make some popcorn and put on a movie – he’ll climb up and start watching with you… or begin reading a book out loud and he’ll want to listen… go for a walk and invite him along – really casual… Once youtell him that you know he needs time to adjust, but that you are certain he will indeed adjust and be comfortable at preschool, I wouldn’t talk about it any more…

  2. I have to keep telling myself that too. My daughter still gets teary if I hang around the kindergarten room too long in the morning. She is afraid of lunch (in case someone makes her eat too much food. Which they don’t.) She is afraid of seatwork (in case she misses something.) I just have to keep telling myself that this will pass.

Let me know what you're thinkin'!

