Mama’s Day Weekend…

For Mother’s Day weekend, we headed to Illinois to celebrate my Grandma’s 80th birthday with her. (Well, it was actually her party day…)  Here’s a few anecdotes and pictures from the weekend:

Punky:   Mama, can I play with your iPhone.

Mama:  No. it’s myPhone!

Punky:  Please, can I play with your iPhone?

Mama:  No!   It’s mmmmmyyyyyyyPhone.

Later:

Punky:  Mama, can I play with your myPhone?

Punky enjoyed his “hang-a-burger wif extra pickles” from McDonald’s on the way down to Chicago.  He likes to eat in the car so we can get to “Gwandma & Gwandpa’s” faster.  Of course, he loves his happy meal toys too!

Once we got to Chicago, it was midnight, so we unpacked the car and headed to bed.  I had started a book in  the car, and stupidly, could not put it down… so I stayed up until almost 2:00 AM reading.   DUMB.   (The book was Anna Quindlen’s new novel, “Every Last One.”)  Haunting.

The next day, we got up and went to my sister’s house in Bartlett.  She made us a delicious Mother’s Day brunch…then the boys got to play together; the girls got to go to Home Depot to buy plants and stop at Starbucks for some coffee.

Then, my sister made a huge turkey dinner.  It was all so yummy!  We exchanged Mother’s Day gifts between us and gave my mom her Mother’s Day gift.

The boys enjoyed the swing set structure in the backyard… and driving around the yard in Lukey’s big Jeep.  They always have fun when they are together.  It’s so fun to watch them!

On Sunday, Mother’s Day, we went out to breakfast with my mom and dad.  Later that day, we went over to my Grandma’s house to celebrate her 80th Birthday with her.  (Grandkids celebrated with her on May 9th and her own kids celebrated with her on May 16th — her actual birthday).

Took lots of pictures of my nephew Benjamin, my sister and her kids, my mom and her grandkids, and of the sled hill behind my grandma’s house.  The grandkids’ in-laws and little kids discovered the sled hill during the party. The kids were having a blast running up the stairs and then down the hill…repeatedly. It was fun to hear the laughter and giggles!

After Grandma opened her presents, we headed outside to take a group picture… mind you, not everyone was there, but we had quite a group!

It was a great weekend!

Let me know what you're thinkin'!

