A Recapitulation…

of life at our house the past 2 weeks.

Memorial Day weekend:  We went to the lake on Saturday.  Hubby, Brian, Dad, and Punky put in  the dock.  I raked out and weeded one of the gardens, ran errands for “staples” in town.  After our lunch, Brian and Dad headed out, leaving the 3 of us there.   It was weird being at the lake alone as a little family of three.  Punky enjoyed fishing from the dock.  He even caught a 7″ bass!  Punky and Hubby went out on multiple paddleboat rides as well.   I even joined them for one.  We had a fire outside and roasted marshmallows.  Punky just likes them uncooked; I love mine charred, and Hubby likes his lightly toasted.  (Of course, we didn’t take any pictures at the lake… no, really, we didn’t!)

Memorial Day: we went to Blue Earth, Minnesota for my mother-in-law’s family’s reunion.   It’s weird going there without her, but it’s so nice to see her sister and her family.   That’s why we keep going!   🙂  Blue Earth Minnesota is home of ….

IMG_5357

Yep, that guy!  The one and only… Jolly Green Giant!  (I know, you’re all singing…..”Ho ho ho, Green Giant!”)

IMG_5362

And, just in case you missed him in the picture above, here’s Punky…

IMG_5361

Life in our backyard is growing!   Our seeds are up!   Our rhubarb is humongous! 

IMG_5387

IMG_5388

IMG_5389

Hubby even put together the fire pit we bought and set it up.  We had our first fire at home on Thursday night.  Punky loved it, and wanted to know where the marshmallows were!

IMG_5390

IMG_5404

And, just in case you wanted to see it, this is the freakiest picture I have ever taken of our cat, Charlie.

 

IMG_5411

Friday, Saturday, Sunday we had the flu bug… well, I did, then Hubby, and KNOCK ON WOOD, not Punky yet!

This next week will be busy with various meetings at church, packing up the classroom, and trying not to get too excited that summer (for me) is only 2 weeks away!  😉

4 thoughts on “A Recapitulation…

  1. Sounds like fun! We have the flu bug in our home…poor 10 yr old dd… I am so sad she is missing the last day(s) of school! Please say a prayer for her!

  2. That is quite some Statue!

    between that and it seems like your healthy veggie garden I am surprised you are capable of catching Flu. I hope you get well soon.

  3. Beth – Will do. It’s a nasty bug! I missed my last day of 4th grade…chicken pox. I was so bummed!

    Mr. Geek – I am feeling better. Much better today. (Thank God! 4 days is a long time when you are so nauseous you can barely sit up!) We still have to finish the garden. We still need our tomato plants, green peppers, eggplant and zucchini (and yellow squash if there”s room!) Hopefully, we’ll get her done this weekend!

  4. wow my seeds are not even in yet too wet!!!

    Looking good… enjoy the fire oit this summer!!

Let me know what you're thinkin'!

