TMI and Charting

So, no secret here, we’re trying to get pregnant.   We had no problem conceiving Punky.  In fact pregnancy #2 wasn’t hard either, but since then…woah.  I have been taking Clomid for three months now and have been charting my basal body temp (BBT) each morning.  Have you ever charted before?  It’s so damn interesting!  (And, when you click the mouse and can put all of your charts together, you get a nice colorful graph of your cycles…anyone who knows me…..color, graphs, cool!)  So, here is my “chart overlay” for the past three months…all three months are on this chart.  If you have no clue about charting, I’ll fill you in a bit.

rev8Iv7Wq

So, I take my temp every morning before I get up.  The beginning of my cycle, I usually hang out in the 97 degree range.   Once I ovulate, my body produces progesterone, making my temperature rise.  You can see in the graph that after ovulation, I hang out in the 98 degree range.  Then, if the egg is not fertilized, your body begins getting ready to discard it… so your body stops producing the massive amounts of progesterone, so your temperature “nose-dives” right before your period.   If you are in fact pregnant, your temperature will stay elevated, as your body will continue to produce progesterone.  Make sense?

So, why do I share this with you?  Because, today my temperature nose-dived.  (See that blue line?!) I just wanted to throw my thermometer across the room this morning!  😦

I know God has a plan for us.  Putting all my faith in God and His plan still has not made me feel any better today.

I know I’ll pick myself up, dust myself off, and keep trudging along… but damn this is frustrating!  So, next week,  I will return to the doctor’s office and go through my charts.  I know the meds are working, as I am ovulating, regularly (which was the original problem).  I will gear up for round four.  Keep us in your prayers……

We also rejoice in our sufferings, because We know that suffering produces endurance; endurance, character, and character, hope. And hope does not disappoint us, because God has been poured out into our hearts by the Holy Spirit, whom he has given to us. (Rom 5:4-5)

Punky talks about having a little brother or sister, and it just breaks my heart… I want to yell, “Sweetie, we’re trying!  Nothing would make Mama happier!”

Until then, I will gear up for Round 4, hug my blessings, and continue to plod along!

8 thoughts on “TMI and Charting

  1. I did the whole charting thing…and that’s why I have two boys. LOL! I miscarried before I had A and it was heartbreaking. I didn’t know if I’d be able to have kids. It worked out (obviously), but for several months I was a wreck. Hang in there, hon.

  2. I charted for way too long before I finally found a doctor that would listen to me regarding what was wrong with my body. And thankfully, that is why we have our boy.

    I know it is a struggle – one I’ve been through, and one I would probably have to go through again if the Hubby would agree to pursue another one. And there is a reason I ended up with three thermometers. I believe I killed the first two in fits of disappointment.

  3. I can only imagine how hard what you and your (hopefully soon to be expanding) family have been through in recent times. I am so sorry to see that blue line dip.

    My heart is with you and here is to “Keeping warm” next month!

  4. very interesting….hopefully this time is the charm..perhaps God has a different plan…different timing…different results! Time will tell….God is always around watching,helping and guiding…Love ya

Let me know what you're thinkin'!

