Leprechaun Madness

Punky was thrilled this morning as he ran down the stairs yelling, “Mama, did he come?”leprechaun_t250

I pleaded ignorance and told him he’d have to check for himself.

He opened the refrigerator door, stood back and clutched his hands over his mouth is disbelief.  He said, “Mama, I just can not believe my eyes!”   There in the fridge was a gallon of green milk and 2 containers of green butter!

The leprechaun had appeared!

A bit later, when we pulled up into Kelly’s driveway and walked up to her front door, Punky once again nearly jumped out of his skin with excitement.  There leading up to the door was green glitter and little green footprints!  “Mama, he’s here, too!”

The boys made a leprechaun trap yesterday at daycare so that they could spend today trying to catch a little leprechaun.  Punky talked about it all night yesterday!   He was so excited to get to daycare this AM!

I cannot wait to head home after school.   I have a crock pot of nearly 8 lbs of corned beef cooking.  The little red potatoes are waiting to be boiled as well as the yummy cabbage.  Last night, I made 2 huge loaves of Irish Soda Bread (on which we will put the green butter!)  This is my first year using the crock pot, but I thought I’d give it a try… we’ll see how it turns out.

My mouth is already watering… yummmmmm.

Punky and I are dressed in our green Irish attire.  His shirt says, “Kiss Me, I’m cute!” and my sweatshirt says, “Kiss Me, I’m Irish!”  I even put on my leprechaun socks this morning that my mother-in-law gave me one year when I invited her over to my apartment for a St. Patrick’s Day Dinner.  It was just her and me that year.  Hubby (then Boyfriend) worked in Wisconsin 2 hours away and lived there still.   My father-in-law was also at work, so that left the 2 of us to celebrate that weeknight!  She was so amazed by the Irish spread!

Tonight, it will be Hubby, Punky, my father-in-law and me celebrating… (and we’ll have LOTS of yummy leftovers with the 8 lbs of corned beef!)

What do you do to celebrate St. Patrick’s Day?

2 thoughts on “Leprechaun Madness

  1. When something in our fridge that isn’t normally green turns green we should have thrown it out a couple weeks ago.

    We celebrated by going to bed early after extended work days. Aren’t we the most exciting couple ever?

  2. Wow.

    We dont really celebrate it. In fact the only people I know that do are eithee Irish lads from rugby that treat it as a reason to get smashed, or students for much the same reason (any excuse).

    Having said that Lisa did celebrate it at Rainbows by dressing green and having stew and potatoes (She is not sold)

Let me know what you're thinkin'!

