Happy May Day!

Happy May Day! I remember every May Day bringing my elementary teachers a bouquet of fresh spring flowers from Mom’s garden…….Lily of the Valley, Tulips, daffodils, and hyacinth flowers. Mom would wrap the base of the flowers in a wet paper towel, then wrap that in Aluminum foil, and I would hold them on the bus all the way to school. My teachers would then have them on their desk all day, and I would sit there proud as a peacock.

Man……how times have changed. I would keel over from a heart attack if any of my 8th graders brought me flowers!

2 thoughts on “Happy May Day!

  1. My neighbor when I was a young one had the best flower garden. She made up bouquets for all of us kids (maybe 8 of us) to give to teachers… and sometimes even Sunday School teachers! Great memories!

  2. wow– what a nice Mom!!! Creating those nice memories for you!! The flowers are still all in the garden these days with no little ones to pass them off to teachers!!

Let me know what you're thinkin'!

