Election day…

Ok, it’s hard to be upbeat today…..it’s election day.   One of every 4 school districts in the state of Minnesota has a levy going to the voters today.  I work (and live) in the states biggest district ->  Anoka- Hennepin.  If our levy does not pass today, we will cut $42 million (yes, that is m-i-l-l-i-o-n!).   To cut $42 million, the school board says it could close up to six elementary schools, two middle schools and one high school, and lay off 800 staff, and cut programs.

Excuse me?!?!?!?  Not only do I hope we pass this to keep my job secure, but why would I want to send Punky to school in this district?!?!?!? And how the hell would I sell my house if I were to move away from the district?  Who is giong to WANT to live within the district?  I’m sure my job would be safe…but why would I want to teach under those conditions?!?!?!?

So…here I sit…eating my lunch…trying to keep my school day as NORMAL as possible.  I am scared to see what tomorrow morning brings when all ballots have been counted and reported) Wish us luck…

2 thoughts on “Election day…

  1. The 2 major questions passed (the ones that gave us the most $$ to recuperate from an expiring levy and the cuts the state made to education). So, huge sighs of relief have been heard around the school!

Let me know what you're thinkin'!

