Safely Home…

God called his beautiful angel home early this morning. Mom passed away a little after 1 AM, surrounded by her husband, their three children and her sister.

Punky woke up a bit before 1 AM screaming for me and wanted to merely be held for quite awhile, and it turns out that was the time that she had passed. Then, this morning when I went in to wake him up, I said, “Hey Little Buddy…” and he sat up and said “Bacca (grandpa)….me…….Bacca……me” He wanted to go see Grandpa this morning. I believe that Mom made a stop at our house and kissed her little angel before she went to meet God.

This morning, we made all of the arrangements and spent most of the day together as a family.

Tonight, Hubby is going to stay again at the house……for Dad. This has been so hard on all of us.

We have found MUCH comfort in the overabundance of support and love sent our direction during this time. Thank you so much for everything….and it’s been so overwhelming, I can’t even begin to name people here…just know that we will be thanking each of you individually in the coming days.

I find such comfort with this poem I was given when my great grandmother passed away. I hope some of you will also find comfort in it.

 

Safely Home…

I am home in Heaven, dear ones;
Oh, so happy and so bright!
There is perfect joy and beauty
In this everlasting light.

All the pain and grief is over,
Every restless tossing passed;
I am now at peace forever,
Safely home in Heaven at last.

Did you wonder I so calmly
Trod the valley of the shade?
Oh! but Jesus’ love illumined
Every dark and fearful glade

And He came Himself to meet me
In that way so hard to tread;
And with Jesus’ arm to lean on,
Could I have one doubt or dread?

Then you must not grieve so sorely,
For I love you dearly still;
Try to look beyond earth’s shadows,
Pray to trust our Father’s Will.

There is work still waiting for you,
So you must not idly stand;
Do it now, while life remaineth–
You shall rest in Jesus’ land.

When that work is all completed,
He will gently call you Home;
Oh, the rapture of that meeting,
Oh, the joy to see you come!

-Unknown

Mom was a beautifully spectacular woman… she will be so sorely missed. We love you, Mom!

5 thoughts on “Safely Home…

  1. I’m so sorry Melissa. So many memories come flooding to me, when I think of grandma…

    I’ll be flying up to Minnesota tomorrow, and I will be there till Sunday.

    I can’t wait to see you all, and my cousin “Punky” for the first time! I only wish it was under easier circumstances.

    See you all in the coming days.

  2. I’m sorry for your loss, but share your peace that she is with God.

    You’ve been brave to share this experience with us. Know that you are supported in prayer.

    May God bless you and your family!

  3. Melissa

    I am so sorry for the loss of this incredible woman, she will be deeply missed! She obviously touched you deeply. I also had the privledge of being touched by her for so many years with Brian, Jeremy and Jonathan. My prayers are with you and the entire family at this most difficult time.

Let me know what you're thinkin'!

