Helpless Mommy Syndrome

You know how when something happens and it happens in slow motion right before your very eyes and you can do NOTHING to stop it? [The next part of that is that you replay it OVER AND OVER in your head after it happens…]

I watched Punky somersault down the 3 deck stairs today at the family picnic we were at Up North. He went to lean forward to step and grab the railing, and there was no railing on that side of the staircase, so he just kept going forward…and I saw him flip over and over and over until he hit the bottom….landing right in the garden on his head and neck…I had the most awful, helpless, icky feeling in the pit of my stomach the rest of the day…the image of him lying there crying and calling for “Mommy!” just replaying in my head and gives me goosebumps.

Of course, this all happened just minutes before we were going to put him down for nap time…and I was so freaked out I didn’t want to put him down in case he had some sort of concussion or head trauma…so the little boy was just EXHAUSTED when we left the picnic this afternoon! 😦 Poor guy!

Thankfully, he has just some scrapes and bumps on him…but I will take him to the chiropractor on Monday to get adjusted. He didn’t look too comfortable when he landed! I’m sure something is out of whack!

So, tell me, have you ever had that same helpless feeling in the pit of your stomach as you watch in horror as something you can’t control happens to your child?

One thought on “Helpless Mommy Syndrome

  1. That’s the worst when something like that happens! I’ve definitely had that feeling – a few times with Dominic! I’m glad Punky sounds like he’s doing okay!

Let me know what you're thinkin'!

